Saturday Morning Commentary

Not as light as the ‘Saturday Morning Cartoons’ series, but well worth your time just the same. Most, if not all, of these opinion columns are listed on my Google Reader. The ones listed here are judged by this blogger to be good reading that provokes thinking. I welcome your opinions and recommendations.

I hate provisos, but sometimes I feel they are necessary. As my side bar states, just because I link a column doesn’t mean I agree with any or all of the column, and it certainly doesn’t mean that I’m a “fan” or a “supporter” of the writer. Jim Rome has clones. Rush has ditto heads. I’m neither. You won’t find writers from too wide a spectrum linked here, but it won’t only be far right types.


Here are two excellent columns from Cal Thomas, one of my favorite commentators. The first revolves around his friendship with the late Senator Kennedy. The second is a solid lesson on the difference between showing good judgment and being judgmental. Thomas has a nice website, too. You’ll find it by clicking here.


Mark Steyn is another columnist I enjoy. My first exposure to Steyn was through his book America Alone. It’s a good read. Since then I’ve regularly read his Saturday column for National Review online. His most recent contribution deals with the President’s plan to address all the schoolkids of the nation during school through a satellite feed. As usual, Steyn writes a well reasoned and witty column.


Next are a couple of thought provoking columns by George Will. Mr. Will is a conservative columnist who suggests here and here that the American military should pull out of Afghanistan and Iraq. Don’t argue against his point until you’ve read his argument. I think he makes a lot of sense. Something to think about anyway.

Here are the last two. First, Levi Johnston just won’t go away. I wish he would! Here is a fairly solid piece from NYT op-ed columnist Gail Collins onthe subject.

Because football season is here, the final commentary that I’ll link is from Ted Kluck’s open letter to Tim Tebow fans.

About Travis

Christ follower. Husband of one woman. Father of three young men. Former 11B. Blessed to pastor the Bible Baptist Church of Mount Vernon, KY.
This entry was posted in Cal Thomas, Commentators, George Will, Journalism, Mark Steyn, SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Morning Commentary

  1. Tom Degan's Daily Rant says:

    Levi Johnston is a grim and ominous reminder of all that might have been…."President Gidget von Braun"Can you even imagine?"The America that I know and love is not one in which my parents or my baby with Down Syndrome will have to stand in front of Obama's "death panel" so his bureaucrats can decide, based on subjective judgment, of their "level of productivity in society", whether they are worthy of health care. Such a system is downright evil."Sarah Palinfrom her Fascism….I mean, "Facebook" page.It's amazing. That an imbecile like this failed ex-governor can mention something as idiotic as "Death Panels" and in the next instance it is a serious part of the national dialogue. Why are the American people so susceptible to such blatant propaganda? I have a theory if you're interested in hearing it:We're idiots.I don't know about you, but I'm loving the Sarah Palin/Levi Johnston saga/soap opera. And to think that only one year ago, the geniuses on the Republican National Committee deemed her to be the best choice to be "a seventy-two-year-old heartbeat away from the presidency".Are you surprised that the "party of Lincoln" is imploding? Are you stunned that America has become the laughingstock of the industrialized world? You shouldn't be. You really shouldn't.http://www.tomdegan.blogspot.comTom Degan, Goshen, NYTom Degan

Leave a Reply

