Starting to Hate Boston

The only dynasties that I can stomach are the dynasties of my teams. IU in the 70s. The Big Red Machine; also in the 70s. (And now I am out of examples.) I loathe other dynasties. In MLB I want to see the Yankees lose every game. In NCAA b-ball I love to see UK and Duke defeated. I voraciously cheered the Appalachian State upset of the Wolverines in the Nut House…er…I mean Big House. I always enjoy it when a Florida team posts an “L”. USC’s three losses are fantastic!

As inconceivable as it may at first seem, Boston’s sports teams – at least the Sox and the Pats – have been added to the above list.

It wasn’t always this way.

I remember feeling sorry for the Patriots when the Bears humbled them before the word in 1985. It was bad enough that they were forced to play in those ugly red and white uniforms with the ridiculous logo of a minuteman snapping a football. I remember thinking: “This is the best the AFC can produce?”

When the team hired the Tuna and changed its logo, I was genuinely happy for them. I was ambivalent in 1996 when they lost to the Packers in the Super Bowl. I was sincerely happy for the team’s first ever Super Bowl victory in 2001. I gave them no chance against the “greatest show on turf”. I was happy to see the AFC win, and I enjoyed a great Super Bowl game.

Now I just want to see them lose. I’m sick of the Patriots. I’m tired of Brady. Belichick and his ugly, chopped up hoodie just make me tired all over.

Now the Red Sox may officially be labeled as a dynasty. I must tip my hat to them, however. After 86 years of near misses, balls between the legs, etc. this franchise which seemed destined to never finish higher than second has accomplished an amazing feat. Twice the Sox have recovered from a 3-1 deficit in the ALCS. In both cases, 2004 and this year, the Sox went on to sweep the Series. In 2004 I thought it was a great story.

Not so much this year.

I’m starting to hate Boston. (I’m afraid that this time next week I’ll really hate Boston.)

About Travis

Christ follower. Husband of one woman. Father of three young men. Former 11B. Blessed to pastor the Bible Baptist Church of Mount Vernon, KY.
This entry was posted in Culture, MLB, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

