I Just Don’t Get It!

I do not understand the fascination and admiration that many Evangelicals seem to have for former House Speaker Newt Gingrich. Back when Newty was ramrodding the “Contract with America” he was the darling of Christan political pundits, and James Dobson has recently remarked that Newty is the

Brightest guy out there…and…the most articulate politician on the scene today

At the same time he appears to turn a cold shoulder to Presidential maybe, former TN senator, and current Law & Order actor Fred Thompson by saying

Everyone knows he’s conservative and has come out strongly for the things that the pro-family movement stands for…[But] I don’t think he’s a Christian; at least that’s my impression

Evidently the good doctor believes that “such an impression would make it difficult for Thompson to connect with the Republican Party’s conservative Christian base.” You can read the entire article to the here. But I guess Newty’s adultery is OK with the Republican Party’s conservative Christian base? Personally, I would no sooner vote for Newt Gingrich than I would vote for Hillary Clinton.

Thompson intrigues me. I need to learn more about his positions. Sadly, I have learned that if Fred Thompson does run for President the Law & Order reruns will be temporarily stopped!

About Travis

Happily married. Blessed to raise three young men. Associate pastor of Rodgers Baptist Church.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

