What a Wonderful Memory!!!

Can anyone honestly say that this doesn’t bring back beautiful memories. The image of Smart hitting that baseline shot is just as vivid in my memory as the picture in this post. USA Today has an article about this most fantastic March Madness moment.

In the near future we will hopefully have more opportunities to watch dramatic finishes to national championship games.

(HT: Tim Ellsworth)

Concerning the UK job; Yahoo sports columnist Dan Wetzel argues that Memphis’ John Calipari would win championships at Lexington. I think that he makes an excellent point. Calipari has been a winner everywhere he has coached (except for the NBA). He has taken UMASS to the Final Four (1996), and he currently has Memphis in the Elite Eight for the second consecutive season. He has recruited NBA level talent at UMASS and Memphis. Were Calipari to travel NE from Memphis to Lexington I fear that he would build a juggernaut.

It gets worse for the dedicated IU fan, because Tubby will build the Gophers into a formidable program.

Maybe UK will hire Bob Knight. I really hope they do. In fact, it would be a wonderful thing to see Bob Knight patrolling the UK sideline.

I am happy to announce that I have a perfect Elite Eight bracket. Although I wish the two mid-majors (SIU and Butler) would have advanced. I was wrong about the local teams and Notre Dame, but my Final Four is still a possibility.

About Travis

Christ follower. Husband of one woman. Father of three young men. Former 11B. Blessed to pastor the Bible Baptist Church of Mount Vernon, KY.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a Wonderful Memory!!!

  1. Ray says:

    Can you say Rick Carlisle?

  2. Anonymous says:

    I saw Keith Smart at an exhibition game at South Dearborn High School back
    in the 80’s.
    I have some pictures of this
    event laying around somewhere in my files.
    Virgil

  3. Travis says:

    Virgil,
    I saw that game as well, but I don’t have the pictures to prove it.

    Ray,
    Carlisle is a good coach, but he’s days at Indiana are over; at least they should be. It just isn’t working out in Indy. I don’t think UK will be too interested in him, however. I think they have their eyes set on Mark Few, Tom Crean, and Calipari.

Leave a Reply

