Not My Kind of Conservative

Theologically, fiscally, socially, and politically I’m a conservative. Just look at my blogroll and list of links and you can tell that I often, although not exclusively, read conservative material. There are, however, some conservative commentators I purposely avoid.

Ann Coulter for instance. This woman really annoys me. She is the female counterpart to Willie Cunningham.
Unless you are from the Cincinnati area you’re probably scratching your head and wondering “Who is Willie Cunningham?” He is a loud, obnoxious, lawyer-turned-radio talk show host for 700 WLW in Cincinnati. Cunningham, like Coulter, is a conservative. I hate to admit that.


This duo typify individuals who I’d rather have in the other camp. I’m never quick to publicly admit it when I actually agree with positions that they hold. You’ll never hear me say, “Ole Bill Cunningham has it right!” or “Like Ann Coulter says…” If I agree with these types (Rush Limbaugh and G. Gordon Liddy are two others) then I try not to point it out.

Why? Because I would rather align myself with conservatives who can sanely and rationally articulate a point; rather than sensationalists who sound more like WWE wrestlers before a match. Both of these individuals are intelligent, and they are both articulate. It is their style and methodology with which I disagree. I don’t think they do conservatives any favors.

Ann Coulter is in the news for her remarks about Presidential candidate John Edwards. I’m not in favor of an Edwards presidency, and you can read all about that
here. I also disapprove of most remarks that come from Ann Coulter’s mouth. If for some reason you haven’t heard what Ann Coulter said about John Edwards, you can read about it here.

I think Dr.
Al Mohler addressed Coulter’s remark quite well, and that is why I’ve provided a link to his blog. I’d like to specifically address any Christian readers right now. If you feel like giving Ann Coulter an “Atta girl” then consider this quote:

Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. -Ephesians 4:29

About Travis

Happily married. Blessed to raise three young men. Associate pastor of Rodgers Baptist Church.
This entry was posted in Culture, Journalism, Media, Politics, Talking Heads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

