Dad Being Dad

As my favorite team, the Cincinnati Reds arrive in Sarasota, FL, the reason behind Ken Griffey, Jr.’s broken hand has finally come to light. He broke his hand playing with the kids. According to MLB.com reporter Mark Sheldon:

Griffey explained that he was wrestling with his two youngest children, Tevin and Taryn, when then-12-year-old son Trey joined in. It was at that point when an awkward fall had the elder Griffey land on his left throwing hand. “He just doesn’t know his own strength yet,” Griffey said of Trey, now 13. “He’s at that age where he’s getting to be a man. A little leverage and a little height helped. I also didn’t want to land on my 4-year-old, too”…Trey took the accident hard, but Griffey was quick to offer his son consolation. “It was one of those things. We were messing around, and he got me,” Griffey said. “I just told him it was an accident. ‘I’m your dad, better me than you.’ It’s going to happen.”

Junior Griffey is one of my favorite baseball players. This has not always been the case. Even though we are both from the tri-state (SE IN; SW OH; No. KY) I was never a big Griffey fan during his Seattle days.Why?

Because I’m a Cincinnati Reds fan and not a Seattle Mariners fan. Sure, I enjoyed watching him play, and I appreciated his attitude and spirit. But I’m a Reds fan; so while I admired his game I could only dream of the Cincinnati native wearing the Reds uniform.

Then the dream came true. As is always the case, however, reality is much different from the dream. Griffey arrived in the Queen City the year after their improbable 99 win season. The 2000 team was basically the same as the ’99 team, except for the outfield where Dante Bichette replaced Greg Vaughn in left (Jeffrey Hammonds was traded to the Rockies for Bichette and Vaughn became a free agent) and Junior Griffey replaced Mike Cameron in center.

Obviously the Reds are headed to the Series right? I never thought so, but my opinion was in the minority. Everyone, seemed to think that adding Griffey to the team meant an automatic postseason appearance. What few people were willing to realize was the ’99 team overachieved. Pete Harnisch won 16 games. Steve Parris went 11-4. Scott Williamson won Rookie of the Year (his only solid year too, by the way.) “Trader Jack” McKeon made all the right moves as he platooned Michael Tucker and Jeffrey Hammonds in right , and as he found playing time for Dmitri Young in the outfield and infield corner positions. Sean Casey, Pokey Reese, and Eddie Taubansee all had career years. Barry Larkin had his last Barry Larkin like season. And even Jim Bowden made the right moves. He brought in Greg Vaughn before the season, and Vaughn smacked 45 HR and drove in 118 RBI. Bowden brought in Juan Guzman at mid-season. Guzman went 6-3 and he pitched well enough to have been 9-0.

If the 2000 Reds would have had the identical roster as ’99 the team still would have hovered around .500. With Griffey hitting third and patrolling CF the sky was supposed to be the limit. Instead, the team finished just above .500 and Junior was blamed for not leading the team to the postseason.

2000 was Griffey’s best year in Cincinnati (145 games; .271, 40 HR, 118 RBI). Every year since has been cut short by injuries. Every year his critics, especially in the Cincinnati area, get louder and more obnoxious. You won’t hear that junk from me. It’s not as if Junior has gotten hurt by being stupid, and even if he’d have averaged 150 games per year you still must have pitching to win. Until last season the Reds had none.

Do I wish Griffey would have been healthy with the Reds? Absolutely! Am I happy that he’s still a Red? Absolutely! Am I bothered that he broke his left hand playing with his kids? Absolutely not!

About Travis

Christ follower. Husband of one woman. Father of three young men. Former 11B. Blessed to pastor the Bible Baptist Church of Mount Vernon, KY.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dad Being Dad

  1. HOOKEM says:

    Great post. I had the privilege of playing ball at Liberty University from 92-95 and then played independent ball in Chillicothe OH for a month before tearing my rotator cuff. People who have never played the game at that level much less the level Griffey is playing, have no idea what it is like to play so many games and the toll it takes on your body.

    For ten years I avoided all activities that had a high probability of taking me out of commission and it never failed that the common every day activities bite you. Dude still has the most beautiful swing I have ever seen.

    Look forward to reading more.

  2. Travis says:

    Hookem,

    Thanks for your “baller” perspective. Most of Griffey’s non-pundit critics (and probably most of the pundits) never played above the Little League or High school level. Rec softball leagues don’t count.

    His swing is the sweetest that I’ve ever seen. Much better than Will Clark’s.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Brother,
    Your ability to recall details is astounding! Did you remember all of those stats or did you research it?!!
    Love ya,
    Sister (your oldest sister)

  4. Travis says:

    Sis,

    I just clicked on mlb.com! I could remember some of the numbers, but I wanted to make sure that I had them right.

    Instead of signing off (your oldest sister), you should just write: your brunette sister.

    Whaddaya think?

Leave a Reply

