McDonalds vs. Starbucks

I like a good cup of coffee. I consider myself a coffee connoisseur. Of course, by coffee I mean coffee; plain, hot, and black coffee. No sugar. No cream. No milk. Nothing that ends in “cino”. As a coffee connoisseur I have arrived at the conclusion that people drink Starbucks coffee for the “experience”; they want to be hip. Why else would anyone overpay for a bad cup ‘o joe? I have never liked Starbucks coffee,and it appears that I’m not alone. According to this AP report at BusinessWeek.com McDonalds’ coffee beat Starbucks in a taste test. Here is an excerpt from the report.

Published reports say the nonprofit organization’s taste testers ruled the coffee served by McDonald’s beat out the pricey brew served up at Starbucks.

Of course, even if the Starbucks coffee tasted better I’d still be a McDonalds man. Taste or no taste I’m sticking with the cheap coffee.

About Travis

Happily married. Blessed to raise three young men. Associate pastor of Rodgers Baptist Church.
This entry was posted in Culture, Offbeat. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to McDonalds vs. Starbucks

  1. spanky says:

    Well, I guess we won’t bother inviting your family to our new Starbucks just off the exit. But we can still go across the street to McDonalds! I also like cheap coffee. That’s because a lot of cream and sugar goes into my hot coffee, if you can still call it that!

  2. Fresh Dirt says:

    I totally agree…. Starbucks is all about the experience. Indeed, this is currently what happens in churches today, many are paying for a hyped experience rather than the great cup of coffee known as the gospel. By the way, it was great to hear from you.
    -Justin

  3. Travis says:

    Spanky,

    A Starbucks in Ripley county; Batesville most be stepping up in the world. I’ll tell you what; if you’re buying I’ll go to Starbucks with you!

    Justin,

    Thanks for visiting the Oxgoad! It’s great interacting with you. I read the online article that you wrote for Youth Worker journal. Good stuff!

    Your comparison of some churches to Starbucks is accurate. Instead of having a marketing mentality, we should strive to cultivate an environment of gospel lovers and proclaimers.

    Keep coming around!

  4. reglerjoe says:

    I too am a coffee connoisseur. I too drink it as God intended: BLACK!

    I too like McD’s coffee, but I prefer Starbuck’s. Most people don’t like the taste of Starbuck’s because they have the Americanized taste for weak coffee.

    You’re right about the “hip” factor with Starbuck’s. Most people don’t order coffee, they order those mochalatte crappaccino thingies.

    Besides, a “tall” brew at Starbucks is only 10 cents more expensive than the sludge 7-eleven sells as coffee.

  5. Travis says:

    Joe,

    I just knew that you’d drink coffee the right way! Thanks for pulling the Orange Truck over at the Oxgoad. Feel free to park here as often as you like.

    I come from a long line of coffee drinkers, but I learned to drink coffee in the Army; where the stuff is strong enough to stand at attention. I like it strong, but it seems like Starbucks leaves the regular coffee sit around in a thermos all day. I must admit this, however, I do occasionally have a Starbucks coffee. Whenever Dianna goes to the mall I camp out in Barnes & Noble, grab a book, and order a coffee (Starbucks). I have only had one or two bad cups.

    That’s ok though, because I’ll drink Starbucks coffee in Barnes & Noble any day if it means I get out of the mall.

  6. Anonymous says:

    You know why Starbuck’s is better than MCD’S? You can’t get a Pumpkin Spice Latte at McDonalds!!!
    I’ll take the added flavor to a little bit of coffee any day!!

    Drinkin’ coffee the good way.. your loving sister, Sarah

  7. Travis says:

    Sis,

    What in the world is “Pumpkin spice latte”? I know what it’s not, and it’s not coffee! If you were to “start drinking coffee the good way” (as your father and older brother do) then you’d eat your pumpkin with a fork and wash it down with a hot, black cup o’ joe!

    Pumpkin spice latte…it sounds more like an ice cream flavor than a cup of coffee!

    Thanks for the comment, Sis!

Leave a Reply

